So I’m a graduate now… What next?

I’ve heard the same question about a hundred times in the last few few weeks alone.

“So… you’re graduating. What are you going to do next?”

In all honesty – I have no idea. Since the age of around 3 or 4 years old, my future has been pretty certain. Education, education, education. Nursery, to primary school, to secondary school, to sixth form, to university. And now all of a sudden… nothing.

I suppose I always thought I’d come out of university, go straight into my dream job and that would be that. I wish it was that easy! I’m still somewhat confused about what I want to do. Not in a way that says “I’m a person with no direction” – I would say I just have too many directions that I want to try out, to find my perfect fit.

I’ve always been a creative person, but not necessarily in an arty, good at drawing kind of way. I took Art and Photography GCSEs, which were a great creative outlet, but moving on to A-Levels I went down the science path, and ended up doing a degree in Geography. My degree has given me great skills, such as research, analytical, writing, time management, which are obviously very transferable into almost any industry. But over the last few years I’ve found myself lacking an outlet for my creativity. Without blowing my own trumpet, I feel I have an eye for making ordinary things look and feel special.

So in essence, whatever I end up doing next, it needs an element of creativity. I’ve been fascinated by fashion, beauty, travel, culture and languages for a long time now. I’m an avid magazine collector – this all stems from my Dad, who is a London Underground driver, collecting up all the magazines left on the train at the end of his shift and bringing them back for me to read through. This was when I was much younger, but it’s stayed with me throughout my life, and I buy almost every issue of my favourite magazines each month (shout out to Elle, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Conde Nast Traveller, LivingEtc, LOOK, Grazia, Elle Decoration). I’ve always had a passion for reading and writing, which unfortunately I lost track of slightly while at uni, but I’m looking to get back into it – hence the beginning of my blog. I have a lot more free time on my hands these days so expect updates on books I’m loving, recommendations for summer reads, and my favourite magazine articles.

And whilst writing this post, it occurred to me that although my relationship with ‘formal education’ has now ended, you never really stop learning. Internships and work experience, come at me!

Apologies for the slightly waffle-y, ramble-y post. Just needed to get my thoughts out in the open! And remember that, although the end of uni may feel like the end of everything for now, all it really is, is the closing of one door and the opening of another.

I’d love to know your thoughts.

EW x

 

 

Header image credit: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

